

The American Institute of Architects, San Diego Chapter

25 Recipients Receive Design Awards in San Diego

Architects Honored in Prestigious San Diego Design Awards Program

Contact: Bastiaan Bouma Executive Director (619)232-0109 bbouma@aiasandiego.org

EMBARGOED RELEASE until 8:00 PM of November 6, 2019

San Diego, CA—November 6, 2019 – The American Institute of Architects, San Diego Chapter (AIASD), proudly announces this year's Design Award recipients—a list honoring innovative design with an emphasis on sustainability over a broad range of categories.

Award winners were announced to the AIA San Diego membership on Wednesday November 6, 2019 at their annual Design Awards ceremony and reception at the San Diego Central Library.

In September, a five-person jury deliberated between more than 80 entries, across a range of building forms and refined the list to a select group who will be honored from the podium at the awards ceremony. The buildings span a spectrum from residential to institutional and included multifamily, higher education, commercial, municipal, research, renovation/restoration, retail and a museum.

This year's jury comprised of five dynamic voices from AIA Nevada: Jury Chair: Windom Kimsey, FAIA, Craig Galati, FAIA, Dr. Steffen Lehmann, AIA, Michele Brigida, AIA and Daniel Joseph Chenin, AIA.

A special AIA Board of Directors President's Committee identified additional honorees in selected categories: Patron of the Year, Energy Efficiency (in cooperation with SDG&E/Savings By Design), Metro Tijuana, Accessory Dwelling Units and the Legacy Award.

In addition, a separate locally recruited jury convened to deliberate over the Student Design Awards—a category focused on acknowledging quality design from our senior or graduate students in the county's two accredited schools of architecture, NewSchool of Architecture & Design, and Woodbury University San Diego. Of nine entries, three honorees were chosen for their well-thought out and transformative designs.

Following is a list of recipients honored at this year's event. For project details and images, or category/award information, please contact MJ Carrion, AIA San Diego, Program Manager at (619) 232-0109 or email mjcarrion@aiasandiego.org.

In the Category of Architecture *

- 1. Maintenance & Operations Complex, Palomar College Merit Award: BNIM
- 2. Tata Hall for the Sciences, UCSD Merit Award: CO Architects
- 3. 9625 Towne Centre Drive Merit Award: LPA Inc
- 4. Learning Resource Center, Palomar College Merit Award: LPA Inc
- 5. Bayside Fire Station No. 2 Merit Award: Rob Wellington Quigley FAIA
- 6. Borrego Springs Library & Sheriff Station Merit Award: Roesling Nakamura Terada (RNT) Architects

In the Category of Architecture (Continued) *

- 7. i3 Campus Honor Award: Perkins & Will
- 8. The Continental Honor Award: Jonathan Segal Inc
- 9. The Polk Honor Award: Jonathan Segal Inc

In the Category of Interior Architecture *

- 10. Extraordinary Desserts Honor Award (Interior Architecture): LUCE et studio
- 11. Zaha 35 Honor Award (Interior Architecture): LUCE et studio

In the Divine Detail Category *

- 12. Wellness & Aquatic Complex Merit Award (Divine Detail): Gensler
- 13. Zaha 35 Honor Award (Divine Detail): LUCE et studio

In the Category of Unbuilt Design *

14. Mingei International Museum - Merit Award (Unbuilt Design): LUCE et studio

AIA San Diego Board of Directors President's Committee Awards

- 15. North Coast Live-Well Center Energy Efficiency & Integration Award: HMC Architects
- 16. Borrego Springs Library & Sheriff Station Energy Efficiency & Integration Award:Roesling Nakamura Terada (RNT) Architects
- 17. UABC Valle de las Palmas Cafeteria Best of Metro Tijuana: GarciaCruz Arquitectura
- 18. Casita Merit Award ADU (Unbuilt): T7 Architecture, Inc.
- 19. Wing House Merit Award ADU (Unbuilt): BYoung Design
- 20. ADU Chula Vista Honor Award ADU: Moderngrannyflat with Ramiro Losada-Amor and Prismatica
- 21. Coronado Bridge Legacy Award: Mosher Drew
- 22. Patron of the Year Cisterra

Student Design Awards

- 23. Konnect Merit Award: Ivan Hu, NewSchool of Architecture and Design
- 24. Raising EQ in Prison Architecture Merit Award: Jessica Parker, NewSchool of Architecture and Design
- 25. [Climat]arium Honor Award: Melanie Hahn, NewSchool of Architecture and Design
- * Listed by award level, then alphabetically by firm name.

ABOUT THE DESIGN AWARDS

The AIA San Diego Design Awards program was created to highlight outstanding architecture; to elevate the standards of great design; and to inspire, educate and influence the public. Originally instituted in 1960 as the biennial "Honor Awards Program," the program became an annual event in 1982 in response to increased participation, growing AIA visibility and heightened design awareness.

Founded in 1927, AIA San Diego Chapter is a local component of the American Institute of Architects, and is a 501(c)(6) organization. Along with its sister chapter, AIA Palomar in North County San Diego, the organization represents nearly 1,000 members located throughout the region. The chapter provides a variety of services, resources, and support to the local architecture & design community as well as publicly advocating on behalf of design values in the community. <u>www.aiasandiego.org</u>.