

The American Institute of Architects, San Diego Chapter

24 Recipients Receive Design Awards in San Diego

Architects Honored with Prestigious San Diego Design Awards Program

Contact: Bastiaan Bouma Executive Director (619)232-0109 bbouma@aiasandiego.org

EMBARGOED RELEASE until 9:00PM of November 1, 2018

San Diego, CA—November 1, 2018 – The American Institute of Architects, San Diego Chapter (AIASD), proudly announces this year's Design Award recipients—a list honoring innovative design with an emphasis on sustainability over a broad range of categories. This year, a new category was introduced—Accessory Dwelling Units, to promote good design in a growing market.

Award winners were announced to the AIA San Diego membership on November 1, 2018 at their annual Design Awards ceremony and reception at The Alexandria at Torrey Pines.

In September, five jurors deliberated between more than 80 entries, and narrowed the list down to 22 recipients. The projects ranged from residential to institutional projects; including museums, affordable housing, and historic preservations. The number of high quality projects presented to the jury this year was both extremely encouraging and very challenging – selecting the relatively small number to be honored from the stage required deep consideration and thoughtful deliberation.

This year's jury comprised of five dynamic voices from Arizona: John Kane, FAIA (jury chair); Philip Weddle, FAIA; Christiana Moss, AIA; Matthew Salenger, AIA; Caroline Lobo, AIA.

In addition, a separate jury convened to deliberate over the Student Design Awards—a category focused on acknowledging quality design from our senior or graduate students in our two accredited schools of architecture, NewSchool of Architecture & Design, and Woodbury University. Out of seven entries, two honorees were chosen for their well-thought out and transformative designs.

Following is a list of recipients awarded. For project details and images, or category/award information, please contact Bastiaan Bouma at bbouma@aiasandiego.org (619)232-0109.

The jury chose to award the following distinctions:

ARCHITECTURE:

Honor Award – **UCLA Saxon Suites**. Firm: <u>Studio E Architects</u>

Honor Award – IDEA1. Firm: The Miller Hull Partnership

Merit Award – domusstudio/2800 Third Avenue. Firm: domusstudio architecture

Merit Award - Del Mar Civic Center and Town Hall. Firm: The Miller Hull Partnership

Merit Award – La Jolla Guest House. Firm: Gluckman Tang Architects

Merit Award - Spectrum IV. Firm: LPA

Citation Award – Makers Quarter Block D. Firm: BNIM

Citation Award – PLNU Science Center (Sator Hall + Latter Hall). Firm: Carrier Johnson + CULTURE

INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE:

Honor Award – Equinox La Costa. Firm: Retail Design Collaborative

Merit Award – **Virginia Way.** Firm: <u>DuCharme Architecture</u> Merit Award – **The Honor Foundation.** Firm: Gensler

URBAN DESIGN:

Honor Award – **Quartyard.** Firm: RAD LAB

UNBUILT:

Honor Award – **705 Sixth Avenue.** Firm: Rios Clementi Hale Studios Merit Award – **Front Street Tower.** Firm: Rios Clementi Hale Studios

METRO TIJUANA AWARD:

Casa Coubes. Firm: Generica Arquitectura + Diseño Urbano

ACCESSORY DWELLING UNIT AWARD:

The Enclave. Firm: Crossman Architecture

DIVINE DETAIL AWARD:

Citation Award: Super Court of California - San Diego. Firm: Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

SAVINGS BY DESIGN'S ENERGY EFFICIENCY & INTEGRATION AWARDS:

San Diego International Parking Plaza. Firms: Gensler and Watry Design

UC San Diego Mesa Nueva. Firm: Mithun

YOUNG ARCHITECT OF THE YEAR AWARDS:

Philip Auchettl, AIA, CEO/Co-Founder of RAD LAB Jared Basler, AIA, Owner of Basis Studio

STUDENT DESIGN AWARDS:

Ivan Hu, Romberg Resurgence; NewSchool of Architecture & Design

Mackenzie Sims, Learning Environments for Creativity; NewSchool of Architecture & Design

PATRON OF THE YEAR AWARD:

Kilroy Realty

LEGACY AWARDS:

Balboa Park Botanical Building and Lily Pond, 1915, Carleton M. Winslow and Frank P. Allen Jr. Macy's Mission Valley, 1961, A.C. Martin and Frank L. Hope & Associates

ABOUT THE DESIGN AWARDS

The AIA San Diego Design Awards program was created to highlight outstanding architecture; to elevate the standards of great design; and to inspire, educate and influence the architectural community. Originally instituted in 1960 as the bi-annual "Honor Awards Program," the program became an annual event in 1982 in response to increased participation, growing AIA visibility, and heightened design awareness.

Founded in 1927, AIA San Diego Chapter is a local component of the American Institute of Architects, and is a 501(c)(6) organization. The chapter provides a variety of services, resources, and support to the local architecture and design community. www.aiasandiego.org.